The Universidade de São Paulo (USP), awarded four Professors from the Faculdade de Medicina (FM) and two from the Escola Politécnica (Poli) with the Armando de Salles Oliveira medal, for highlightingin actions against Covid-19, in law held online, during the 1006th Session of the Council University, on March 9th, 2021.

The winners of the Faculdade de Medicina da USP were Professor Eloisa Silva Dutra de Oliveira Bonfa, from the Clinical Medical Department and Clinical Director of Hospital das Clínicas of FMUSP, Professor Ester Cerdeira Sabino, from the Department Infectious and Parasitic Diseases Department, Professor Esper Georges Kallas, from the Infectious and Parasitic Diseases Department, and Professor Paulo Hilário Nascimento Saldiva, from the Pathology Department.

The winners of Poli-USP were Professor Marcelo Knorich Zuffo and Professor Raúl González Lima, who worked in the development of a pulmonary ventilator for use in cases of patients with coronaviruses.

"At the Faculdade de Medicina and the Hospital das Clínicas, since the beginning of the first wave caused by Covid-19, many health professionals became engaged body and soul day by day and contributed effectively to provide the best possible care and minimize the suffering of the population", said Professor Tarcisio Eloy Pessoa de Barros Filho, Director of FMUSP. He added: "this is a tribute to all the professionals involved. As a way of personifying and representing the diversity of activities, we recognize that the choice of the laureate names is totally fair".

"The Professor Eloisa Bonfá, for his role in the leadership and coordination of care activities, Professor Esper Kallas, for the coordination exercise of vaccination studies, Professor Paulo Saldiva, for the development of minimally invasive autopsy techniques, and Professor Ester Sabino, for her work on the diagnosis, from the genetic sequencing of the first case in Brazil to the identification of new strains that are unfortunately spreading throughout the country; all of them with activities that are extremely relevant to society", said Professor Tarcisio.

"The tribute to these six professors represents a tribute to all our students, teachers and servants who have acted on this front line," said Professor Vahan Agopyan, Dean of USP.